AAPL stock: $105.22 ( +0.39 )

*Cached every 60 seconds. For live updating, Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
what should I know about buying a kayak
Posted by: mrbigstuff
Date: May 01, 2012 01:08PM
from a total noob's perspective.

I've got the swimming part down.

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy.’ They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”
- John Lennon
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: what should I know about buying a kayak
Posted by: Gareth
Date: May 01, 2012 01:10PM
1st, are you looking for whitewater or flat water kayak (touring, recreational, lake, open ocean, etc)? And do you know more than Aziz Ansari does in the AMEX commercial?
[www.youtube.com]
Posted by: SDGuy
Date: May 01, 2012 01:12PM
First - have to ask what's your envisioned usage - ocean, lake, river? Fishing, surfing, whitewater rapids?

There are different types of kayaks to consider, depending on what you plan to do with it...
Posted by: DavidS
Date: May 01, 2012 01:31PM
Can you try a rental first? ;)
Posted by: decay
Date: May 01, 2012 01:34PM
kayak spelled backwards is kayak.

---
I buy records. Getting rid of some? Let me know.
Posted by: haikuman
Date: May 01, 2012 01:34PM
DavidS
Can you try a rental first? ;)

I am very reluctant to mention this but DavidS has a splendid idea *(:>*
Furrder more get used to the fact everyone else will have a better one than you and it cost less *(:>*

Take your time choosing. Where are you Kayaking ? Are you close to an REI ?

“Stay Hungry Stay Foolish"
Steve Jobs

"There are only two mantras yum and yuk mine is yum "
Bernard Mickey Wrangle<>Tom Robbins<> "Still Life With Woodpecker"

"There is a fine line between a rut and a groove"
G.D. Kittredge III

"

Posted by: cbelt3
Date: May 01, 2012 01:39PM