AAPL stock: $105.22 ( +0.39 )

*Cached every 60 seconds. For live updating, Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
[tv] Roku 2 XS first impressions
Posted by: mattkime
Date: May 01, 2012 08:25PM
previous threads -
[tv] easiest way to watch videos from my mac on my tv? [forums.macresource.com]
[tv] tell me about how you watch digital content on your tv [forums.macresource.com]

I received and installed my Roku 2 XS today. I bought it on ebay for about $80. I specifically picked this model because its the only one in their new line that has an ethernet port. This has already been useful.

The device was very easy to set up. I was impressed. I don't think its complete novice ready yet but a small amount of tech smarts and you're in the clear.

First I explored the Channels feature. It has a lot of promise - the tech is there but the content is lacking. The Onion News Network looked perfect although there was a pause to buffer between clips. BBC World News played well although it was a low res stream. Al Jazeera looked pretty good. Two real news outlets and one fake - thats the best content available. There are a ton of channels and they are almost universally crap. However, the Channel interface also provides access to Netflix, Amazon VOD, and Plex.

Plex works great. I have some concerns with image quality but i realized that i'm probably watching an over compressed video anyway.

Oh, it also has angry birds. Other games are available...but why? don't you have a computer or a tablet or a phone or an mp3 player or any other gaming device? they're all better than this. The main problem is that the controller seems to have an over active tilt sensor.

I'll eventually take a closer look at Amazon VOD (a primary reason for choosing this device). There is a lot of content available.

My summary thus far - Roku 2 XS + Plex = Winner.

VTPKL it!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/01/2012 08:25PM by mattkime.
Options:  Reply • Quote