advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Canon Camera Lens Question
Posted by: rapayn1
Date: June 22, 2015 01:53AM
I'm heading to Chicago this week and want to take some photos while there. As I am not a pro photographer, I like the convenience of an iPhone for taking photos. Decent enough photos and fits in your shirt pocket. However, if I wanted to use my old Canon EOS Rebel T3i camera (a lot more to lug around) and could only take one lens with me, which should it be to give me the widest options without needing a bag to carry around ALL of the different lenses? My lens choices are as follows:

Canon EF 28mm 1:1.8 (Ultrasonic AF & MF)
Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 (0.45m/1.5ft)
Canon EFS 18-55mm (AF & MF Image Stabilizer Macro 0.25m/0.8ft) - Feels very lightweight
Canon EFS 55-250mm (AF & MF Image Stabilizer Macro 1.1m/3.6ft)
Canon Zoom Lens EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 (AF & MF Macro 1.5m/4.9ft) - Feels somewhat heavy

I'll be doing typical touristy things. Heading to Millennium Park, Navy Pier, John Hancock Building, Willis Tower (former Sears Tower), Lake Michigan, boat cruise to see the lakefront and all the high-rises off in the distance. Indoor photos at the Adler Planterium and She'd Aquarium, strolling along the Magnificent or Miracle Mile, photos at O'Hare Airport, etc. etc. Basically people, museum exhibits, and buildings.

I'm a point and shoot guy that can occasionally get lucky and take a really good auto-everything photo with the T3i camera.

Another option is to just use my Canon Vixia HF G20 camcorder and use it to take video AND still photos, but I would rather use it just for HD videos and the T3i for still photos. Again, the iPhone 6 can do both, but there is the storage issue with that as well.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Canon Camera Lens Question
Posted by: pRICE cUBE
Date: June 22, 2015 02:33AM