Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: $156.13 ( -0.12 )

*Cached every 60 seconds. For live updating, Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
[not the latest] iPhone apps
Posted by: Mr Downtown
Date: March 27, 2016 05:45PM
I'm still fairly new to the smartphone, and sometimes I hear about an app that might be handy. My niece, for instance, wants me to tweet during my forthcoming Japan trip.

So I go to get Twitter, and eventually learn that it requires iOS 8—which I can't put on my iPhone 4 (right?)

But Twitter has been around for years, so it didn't always require iOS8. Same thing for Evernote.

Why do these apps demand the newest OS, and is there some way around it? Where do you get apps that run on older OSs?
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: [not the latest] iPhone apps
Posted by: modelamac
Date: March 27, 2016 06:01PM
Just stick wth texting and don't worry about it.

While you are at it, you might want to check international data rates for your carrier. Many travelers buy a cheap dumb phone for travel and use their smart phone on wifi only.

Mr. Curmudgeon, on Mav/EC/Sierra/blood thinner & some other "old people pills".

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/27/2016 06:03PM by modelamac.
Posted by: space-time
Date: March 27, 2016 06:02PM
because Apple thinks everyone buys new iPhones every other year and everyone has unlimited cell data 24/7
Posted by: Ombligo
Date: March 27, 2016 07:34PM
And be careful about updates... I've had apps auto-update in iTunes and then not be able to install on an older phone (it erases the older version that was there). I've been surprised that there hasn't been a class action suit about users not having access to earlier versions that they bought.

“No persons are more frequently wrong, than those who will not admit they are wrong.”
-- François de La Rochefoucauld
Date: March 27, 2016 07:48PM
Ombligo