Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Time machine backup head-scratcher
Posted by: clay
Date: April 12, 2016 08:10AM
Imagine this scenario:

1. I've been backing up successfully to 4 TB drive for several months (since I last encountered this issue). Ran a backup yesterday morning at about 9am. According to Time Machine, the size of a full backup, based on what I have selected/excluded in TM pref panel is 2.2 TB. Ok.
2. Disconnected from TM drive all day, just reconnected this morning, about 24 hours later. Try to force a Time Machine backup after reconnecting everything. Get a "not enough space on backup drive" message. 1.8 TB available, 2.2 TB needed for backup.

I understand that Time Machine only backs up changed files after the initial backup. Why does it think that my entire set of data has changed since yesterday? At first glance, modification dates on my external drives don't appear to have changed (as I would have expected since I didn't change them). This happened back in early March as well, and maybe 6 months before that. I reformat TM drive, and then it works fine for a while.

Failing drive? Bug in the OS? User error?

Running 10.10.5. Time Machine drive is in USB 3 4-drive enclosure. Other 3 drives in enclosure seem to be operating normally, as far as I can tell. Any thoughts?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/12/2016 08:11AM by clay.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Time machine backup head-scratcher
Posted by: jardster
Date: April 12, 2016 09:33AM
Was one backup wireless and the other wired?

Date: April 12, 2016 09:37AM
nope, both wired (USB). There was nothing, that I'm aware of, that changed in terms of how TM is configured to work, or the data in question that is being backed up. Just a day between being connected to the backup drive.
Date: April 12, 2016 12:00PM
also did a disk warrior rebuild. no difference.

Drive health/performance shows "average" in DriveDX.