advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: $157.86 ( 0.00 )

*Cached every 60 seconds. For live updating, Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Story of increasing competition among wedding photographers interviews a grizzled vet of 5 years
Posted by: pRICE cUBE
Date: August 12, 2017 09:15PM
I have been shooting wedding photos as a side gig for over 25 years now. I find it amusing that they interviewed a "more than 5 years" wedding photographer for a perspective. This means there person has been doing it for less than 6 years but they try to make it sound more serious by saying more than 5. Wedding photography competition got crazy when DSLR dropped below $2k in the late 90's. This person has no self awareness that they also were competition to others in the game for a while now. There will always be more competition willing to work for less.

[www.ksl.com]

SALT LAKE CITY — Have you noticed the increasing number of amateur to professional photographers popping up around Utah? More and more people are deciding to take the plunge into photography, making Utah a hot spot for wedding photography.

According to a state occupation report published by Projections Central and using data from the Utah Department of Employment Security, the popularity of photography in Utah is quickly growing. As of 2014, five-year projected growth within the photography industry was 10.6 percent, higher than any other state in the country. The 10-year projected growth for the state of Utah is as high as 32.8 percent, meaning the photography industry is growing greatly and quickly.

This trend has led to greater competition within the photography world. Hunter Fowler has been working as a photographer for more than five years and has noted that the increase in photographers has taken a toll on her business.