advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
VPN ?'s
Posted by: clyde
Date: October 10, 2017 11:30AM
Many VPN's offer some email and internet "security," but with the CIA itself being hacked, and with some of its own military-grade hackers going free-lance, it seems that any actual internet/email privacy might be a figment of the imagination.

With email, for example, if the sender uses a VPN and the recipient does not, is communication between them exposed to all?

I'd like to understand hows to achieve whatever privacy is available—whether with VPN, other technology, or magic.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: VPN ?'s
Posted by: davemchine
Date: October 10, 2017 01:36PM
I have no experience with secure email but from what I've heard on podcasts it would require the sender and the receiver to exchange encryption keys. Then it would not matter where or how the email was transmitted.
Date: October 10, 2017 03:17PM
If sender & receiver need each other's encryption keys to exchange email privately, which makes sense, then it would seem to this newbie that VPN's would be useful only if both parties in an email exchange would have to have security keys and to exchange them.

Is that right?
Posted by: jdc
Date: October 10, 2017 03:21PM
What are you trying to hide? secret smiley

----

Edited 999 time(s). Last edit at 12:08PM by jdc.
Posted by: max
Date: October 10, 2017 04:58PM
jdc
What are you trying to hide? secret smiley

What have you got to hide?....
Date: October 10, 2017 07:27PM
Ain't hiding anything.

Are y'all comfortable having every trivial remark, every question, every minute detail of your internet traffic publicized??
Posted by: macphanatic
Date: October 10, 2017 07:53PM
I don't think that a VPN will secure email between people that aren't on the same email server. Encryption will though.

My understanding is that a VPN will allow you to:
- surf the web anonymously