advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: $170.13 ( -0.05 )

*Cached every 60 seconds. For live updating, Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Looking for real estate and business advice (long)
Posted by: BernDog
Date: November 12, 2017 11:43AM
Looking to tap into the multi-expertise of the forum.

Me: Teacher looking to leave.

Wife: Homeschooling mom who also sells on eBay.

We currently lease office space where my wife does eBay and home schools during the day. She is outgrowing the space and will need something bigger. Instead of just moving to a larger space, we are reevaluating our whole work-life situation as a family and would like to make some changes.

As an unhappy teacher, I would like to join my wife and expand her eBay business from a one person, part-time operation into a two person, nearly full-time (each) business. We have also wanted to work/live at the same location for a while, to better accommodate home schooling as well as for a better work-life balance. The first thought would be to buy a larger house and land that would allow for (or include) an out building for the eBay business. We can't afford this.

We started thinking outside the box and began looking for downtown retail buildings that could accommodate second floor living space. Instead of paying a mortgage on a more expensive residential property, we could be making an investment in commercial real estate where rental income could help the financial equation.

We have our eyes on a property that is just shy of 14k sq/ft. First floor, street level is currently fully occupied by two businesses. Second story has apparently been unused for decades. We would like to buy the building and renovate the second story into a residence for ourselves, office space for our business, and possibly another office for lease, keeping the existing retail as-is.