advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Looks like I'm fianally going to be X Rated
Posted by: RgrF
Date: January 16, 2006 07:01AM
This is a learning curve I've been avoiding. . . but a massive crash last week convinced me that its time to bite the X bullet.

I have no X experience and/or programs. I do have an old G3 500 w/80 gigs partitioned 60/20\356. The system (9.1) on the 60 side is shot and I'm replacing it with some version or other of X.

This is the tutorial for me to learn X then upgrade to a whole new Mac.

So what flavor of X is the one I need to acquire and install? I currently have an original OSX disk,but I never install version 1.0 of anything anyway.

What disk do I need to buy and why am I not feeling all that excited by the prospect?

Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Looks like I'm fianally going to be X Rated
Posted by: spacescape
Date: January 16, 2006 07:08AM
I think you at least want 10.3.9... However, how much memory do you have? You willl want at least 512 MB or 1 gig...

What about leaving your G3 alone and picking up a MacMINI? Think of it this way... You'll get 512MB Ram, Newer Computer, 10.4, iLife 2006 (Might need to send them $10.00 for processing)...

Just a thought.

Bill
Date: January 16, 2006 07:22AM
I'm going to buy a new Mac. I'd like to know what the hell I'm doing before that AND I need something to run my classic programs for a bit.

As example, I rely on one classic program that has just become available for X. The X version is an $800 upgrade.

So it not the cost of the hardware, its the lack of experience w/X AND the horror stories I've heard over the years AND the software upgrade cost that have kept me from doing this before.

I'm a little step kind of person. I figure if I can get a bit use to X on an old machine, I can justify the 5 grand or so I estimate the changeover will eventually cost me.