advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
OT: Do I need to file an amendment to my tax return?
Posted by: Sarcany
Date: April 15, 2018 09:16PM
I did my own taxes. E-Filed.

Just noticed that I made a mistake on form 8889.

I left the distributions field blank for distributions from a HSA account reported in a 1099-SA form.

The distributions were all for legit healthcare expenses and do not change the amount that I owe the government in any way.

Do I need to file an amendment to my federal return?

Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: OT: Do I need to file an amendment to my tax return?
Posted by: sekker
Date: April 15, 2018 09:19PM
Up to you. I would likely just keep all of the paperwork in case you are audited.
Posted by: blooz
Date: April 15, 2018 09:54PM
Don't take my advice because i am not a lawyer, but I would just let it go. There are a lot of returns coming in and many of them will be of far more interest to the IRS than yours.

And we should consider every day lost on which we have not danced at least once.
—Friedrich Nietzsche
Western Massachusetts
Posted by: max
Date: April 15, 2018 11:11PM
If it does not affect bottom line, I would leave it alone....
Posted by: Michael
Date: April 16, 2018 05:18AM
I agree with the above.

The IRS might send you a paper audit that basically says they found something and this is what you owe. If you disagree you can pursue it. Obviously if you owe nothing you wouldn't object. My impression from getting these over the years is that they are computer generated. If you object a human looks at it.
Posted by: Robert M
Date: April 16, 2018 05:42AM
Sarcany,