advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Best way to nail this knot in subfloor before covering
Posted by: Microman
Date: June 11, 2018 11:45PM
I am going to install a laminate floor on top of this sub floor, prior to that I am going to install a 1/4 plywood to match the height of another area. How should I treat this weak spot, where the knot in the wood creaks, and cracks. Nail and or glue?

Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Best way to nail this knot in subfloor before covering
Posted by: Ken Sp.
Date: June 11, 2018 11:53PM
I am no expert, but drill and countersink a screw with glue?
Posted by: Carm
Date: June 12, 2018 12:01AM
Drill some holes along the crack, glue some dowels into the holes and sand them down. That should help glue the broken pieces together and fix noise caused by the crack.
Posted by: billb
Date: June 12, 2018 01:48AM
If replacing the cracked board is out of the question, I'd try an extra dollop of construction adhesive on the spot just prior to laying the sheet of plywood.
If it was a crack in a piece of furniture you might try bowties and clamping to close up the crack but this is a floor board with 200 pound people staNDING ON IT, flexing it. It's probably in the middle of the span between the joists, too, right ?

The Phorum Wall keeps us safe from illegal characters and words
The doorstep to the temple of wisdom is the knowledge of one's own ignorance. -Benjamin Franklin
BOYCOTT YOPLAIT [www.noyoplait.com]
[soundcloud.com]
Posted by: mikebw
Date: June 12, 2018 09:00AM
Nails in the vertical direction will be of little help if the board is flexing at all, as they will probably just work loose over time. A screw would be better if there is something underneath for it to hold the top board down to. I like the dowel idea, but again if the board can flex that will probably break down over time.