Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
I cooked lamb liver tonight...
Posted by: mattkime
Date: February 09, 2019 08:42PM
...and, eh, its liver!

I sautéed onions, garlic, and thyme in butter on medium low heat and then added the liver for a total of six minutes.

It was part of a larger recipe that included mashed fennel and gravy. I thought I'd simplify and go without those items. (I've had pretty good luck with simply recipes) Now I think those elements might have helped round out the intensity of the liver.

I'm pretty sure this is my first time eating liver aside from the small amount you find in a chicken thigh. Trying to cook something you've never had before is weird.

I'm pretty sure I have 2-3 more packages of lamb liver in my freezer (came with the whole lamb I purchased). Luckily they'll last for a while because I think I need a break to develop a new strategy.

Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: I cooked lamb liver tonight...
Posted by: NewtonMP2100
Date: February 09, 2019 08:46PM
.....with a nice bottle of chianti......???

I reject your reality and substitute my own!
Posted by: srf1957
Date: February 09, 2019 08:52PM
The problem with your recipe is the added liver . My dad used to eat liver and onions . Everybody else would sample a small piece the eat something else .
Posted by: raz
Date: February 09, 2019 09:47PM
To each his own. When the wife is not around my son and I do a liver and onions dinner.

Yum

--------------

Embarassing myself on the Internet since 1978.
Posted by: Winston
Date: February 09, 2019 11:25PM
I've never had lamb liver, but calf's liver is delicious. Especially with onions & really crisp bacon. My wife likes it too, but we never converted our kids.Unfortunately, I'm on a medication that can cause it to give me headaches.