advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Replace Quicken for Mac with Gnucash or Kmymoney?
Posted by: JEBB
Date: August 08, 2019 01:03PM
I've been using Quicken for Mac 2007 for many years without any problems. But it is 32 bit and won't work with the next macOS version. The next Quicken version is a subscription product and is evidently quite different from the 2007 version. I'd like to avoid it. Is anyone here using Gnucash or kmymoney as a Quicken replacement?
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Replace Quicken for Mac with Gnucash or Kmymoney?
Posted by: Robert M
Date: August 08, 2019 01:12PM
JEBB,

You can buy older versions of the newer Quicken that are 64 bit, i.e. Quicken 2017 and it isn't a subscription product. I bought a copy of Quicken 2017 last year because I needed it to make a modification to one of my financial accounts for compatibility with a newer version of Moneydance. Unfortunately, it's still missing some of the features of Quicken 2007 such as the reconciliation report but it's an overall solid product.

Robert

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/08/2019 01:14PM by Robert M.
Date: August 08, 2019 01:19PM
JEBB,

One other thing... If you're going to make a switch from Quicken to a different app entirely - meaning, a non-Quicken app - I'd consider moving to one with a solid company behind it. Moneydance and Banktivity are the first two personal finance apps that come to mind. Both are very good apps. Still missing some of the features of Quicken 2007 but solid nonetheless.

Robert

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/08/2019 01:19PM by Robert M.
Posted by: NewtonMP2100
Date: August 08, 2019 01:29PM
....what's.....Gnu....??

I reject your reality and substitute my own!
Posted by: raz
Date: August 08, 2019 02:50PM
Moneydance here, FWIW

--------------

Embarassing myself on the Internet since 1978.
Posted by: Fritz
Date: August 08, 2019 02:56PM