advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 
 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
The Princess Bride...
Posted by: RAMd®d
Date: August 11, 2019 07:38AM
The Princess Bride has been one of my all time favorite movies.

I loved from the first time I saw it and have watched at several times since.

A couple of weeks ago I watched again and it holds up very well for me.

A few days ago, I listened to the audible book

As You Wish
Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride




It's written and narrated by Cary Elwes, with cameo narrations by Christopher Guest, Carol Kane, Norman Lear, Rob Reiner, Wallace Shawn, Robin Wright, Billy Crystal and Bill Goldman.

This is a terrific book, providing wonderful, incredible insights to the making of the movie. Lots of great anecdotes and inside baseball. There's not a sour note in the book. Elwes' love for the movie and his time spent making it is obvious.

To say that it gave me a new, even greater appreciation for the movie is an understatement. After finishing the book, I watched the movie again.

It's now likely my very favorite movie.

The print version will make great reading.




When a good man is hurt,
all who would be called good
must suffer with him.

You and I have memories longer than the road that stretches out ahead.

There is no safety for honest men except
by believing all possible evil of evil men.

We don’t do focus groups. They just ensure that you don’t offend anyone, and produce bland inoffensive products. —Sir Jonathan Ive

Perfection is the enemy of progress. -Winston Churchill

-An armed society is a polite society.
And hope is a lousy defense.

You make me pull, I'll put you down.

Mister, that's a ten-gallon hat on a twenty-gallon head.

I *love* SIGs. It's Glocks I hate.




Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/12/2019 09:49PM by RAMd®d.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: August West
Date: August 11, 2019 09:59AM
Thanks for the review, Rammie. This is one of my SO's favorites and I think I will be getting it for her!



Picasso in his studio after the liberation of Paris, taken by my friend and mentor.

Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: deckeda
Date: August 11, 2019 10:10AM
Very neat. Added to the list.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: sekker
Date: August 11, 2019 10:57AM
‘As you wish...’!

Thanks!
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: mrbigstuff
Date: August 11, 2019 10:58AM
I'm introducing my kids to it, but I'm afraid there is a little bit of snark and inside-baseball jokes that they don't get. That is fine, of course, they'll get it on the 20th or so viewing. winking smiley
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: wave rider
Date: August 11, 2019 11:08AM
One of my favorites too…



=wr=
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: N-OS X-tasy!
Date: August 11, 2019 12:01PM
I read this last year — terrific book! Just last week I recommended it to a couple of colleagues.



It is what it is.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: 3d
Date: August 11, 2019 12:55PM
For fans of Princess Bride and Homeland (Showtime)

Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: Racer X
Date: August 11, 2019 02:15PM
I loved reading Cary's book when it came out. Especially his characterizations of Andre.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: Thrift Store Scott
Date: August 11, 2019 02:16PM
Cary Elwes giving a Google Talk about the book (long-ish at nearly 40 minutes, but totally worth a watch)- [www.youtube.com]



Resist the Thought Police- George Orwell's book 1984 was meant as a warning, not a "How To" guide.

Lie to me if you must, but don't lie to me and insult my intelligence in the same sentence.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: raz
Date: August 11, 2019 05:45PM
Great movie and a fun book. The part where he breaks his toe is classic



--------------

Embarassing myself on the Internet since 1978.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: DP
Date: August 11, 2019 06:20PM
You seem a decent fellow. I hate to die!





Disclaimer: This post is checked for correct spelling, punctuation, and grammar. Any attempts at humor are solely the responsibility of the author and bear no claim that any and all readers will approve or appreciate said attempt at humor.
My name is DP, and I approve this message.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: $tevie
Date: August 12, 2019 12:01AM
Our neighborhood showed Princess Bride about a month ago as part of their outside free movies series. Quite a crowd turned out, considering that it can be watched from the comfort of one's home quite easily. The place was packed and everyone laughed and applauded at our favorite scenes. Such a fun night.



Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: The Princess Bride...
Posted by: Mike Sellers
Date: August 12, 2019 03:03PM
Does he tell this story?

[www.youtube.com]
Options:  Reply • Quote
Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.

Click here to login

Online Users

Guests: 317
Record Number of Users: 52 on November 20, 2014
Record Number of Guests: 2330 on October 25, 2018