advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
How do you navigate the video streaming channel nightmare?
Posted by: davester
Date: February 28, 2020 04:50PM
We have our fancy new Samsung TV hooked up to Comcast internet and cable app. However, when I sit down to watch a current or recent show (usually something like Homeland, Picard, Outlander, Better Call Saul, a brit show or three, etc) I often forget how to go about watching it. Some of these shows require purchasing either the show or a subscription to Showtime or CBS All Access. However, it's difficult to remember which app to go to for each show. If I use the Samsung app to search for the specific show, it might come up with five different choices (Netflix, Amazon Prime, Fandango, CBS, etc.). It may be that I have a subscription to one or more of these, or to the show itself on one of these, but it's difficult to keep straight what I've paid for or what channels I'm currently subscribing to. To make it worse, even some of the channels can be subscribed to in different ways (i.e. Showtime can be obtained through Comcast, through Hulu, through Amazon Prime, and who knows what else. A couple of times I've found myself paying to watch something that I previously paid for on a different channel.

Is this just a function of old age, or are there others who get confused. It certainly doesn't help that we're only occasional TV watchers so that between viewings I tend to forget how things work. Any good ideas for keeping all this stuff straight?

Oh, another thing...