advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Enterprise pros - explain to me the logic of modern device management
Posted by: sekker
Date: April 09, 2020 10:07PM
We are being forced to go online using web-based apps for our Outlook and other office apps like OneDrive.

There is no way these are more productive for even a minimally trained user than our existing purchased Office 2016 suite.

So there has to be a reason - I keep thinking it's literally to make it HARDER for a user to use. In that way, it means I cannot actually move large files around or do anything nefarious, in the eyes of IT 'security'.

The problem is that it is MY JOB to move such files around - I am a scientist, and we GENERATE and MODIFY and even SHARE large files.

Office is not a great tool for sharing such files, of course. But once we've trimmed the data down to smaller units, Office could at least be used. But now - now, we have turned these fine Macs into GDMED glorified Chromebooks.

So I ask - what was WRONG with computers that ran dedicated programs rather than a browser-based, cloud hardware. If I had WANTED an iPad, I would have BOUGHT an iPad.

I am serious - tell me, oh wise MRFers, what is the logic around crippling modern computers? Is it REALLY that hard to have 'managed' hardware? If they want to record every keystroke and leave the camera on, I would hate it but it would sure be boring for them. But at least, living is such a fish bowl, I could work rather than trying to drink digitally through a tiny straw.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 04/09/2020 10:08PM by sekker.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Enterprise pros - explain to me the logic of modern device management
Posted by: Sarcany
Date: April 09, 2020 10:14PM
sekker
We are being forced to go online using web-based apps for our Outlook and other office apps like OneDrive.