Deals | News | Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: $109.41 ( +2.67 )

*Cached every 60 seconds. For live updating, Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Water heater question: Not heating up.
Posted by: AAA
Date: October 24, 2009 07:21PM
Gas water heater. Not too old. Water seemed pretty warm but no hot last couple days. Pilot is okay. But after a shower the full burner is not firing up. The thermostat is set to hot, not warm.

I turned it all off. Shut off gas. Pilot went out. Re-lit everything. Same symptoms.

I attached hosed and drained it. Finally, the full burner came on.

Can anything be diagnosed and subsequently 'fixed' (more than the draining might have accommodated) from the above?

I did not see much muck come out from the drain. And flowed very forcibly. Steamy hot at first. Mildly warm after minutes gone by.

I have no real experience with even the desire to DIY something like this. I mean, I can understand just fine the physics of it all, but don't want to try an fix it myself. Just a little caution I have about working with natural gas or other combustibles.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Water heater question: Not heating up.
Posted by: Z
Date: October 24, 2009 07:33PM
Thermocouple could be going bad, though in my experience, more of a good then bad thing, rather than intermittent fault. Pretty easy to replace.
Posted by: Microman
Date: October 24, 2009 09:09PM
Thermo couple is the protective device that makes sure the Pilot light is lit, thus generating a small voltage, that allows the main gas to open up.

THese fail. Mine did on New Years one time. Nobody was open, and I had to wait till 6 am on the 2nd to buy one. I now have two extra thermocouples in the garage. But not sure if they work on this new water heater we just put in.

Once youve awakened to cold water, you will know how easy it is to replace a thermo couple. Hopefully yours is easy as well.
Date: October 24, 2009 09:47PM