advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Pumpkins
Posted by: kap
Date: July 28, 2010 08:49PM
My potential patch of pumpkins! These are barely 3 weeks old.

SoCal for now.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Pumpkins
Posted by: cbelt3
Date: July 28, 2010 09:00PM
May they grow to Great Pumpkin size !
Date: July 28, 2010 09:06PM
We are, too, hoping that there will be many fruits. They will be for a small group of young children to enjoy.
It's my first attempt ever. If successful, I switch career ;)

SoCal for now.
Posted by: mrbigstuff
Date: July 28, 2010 09:16PM
you'll have pumpkins in December!

(I keed, but not much)
Date: July 28, 2010 10:55PM
mrbigstuff
you'll have pumpkins in December!

(I keed, but not much)
Ok. Pumpkin pies for Xmas then. Not that we know how to make one grinning smiley

SoCal for now.
Posted by: Racer X
Date: July 28, 2010 11:45PM
Be careful, some turn feral if you don't raise them right. I'd hate to read in the paper that you were gourd to death while gardening.
Posted by: neophyte
Date: July 29, 2010 10:10AM
Last years' "seasonal display" pumpkin in our garden lasted intact through the winter (South Carolina coastal region), then rotted in early spring. I threw away the husk, but the innards got mulched over. Many seeds sprouted (50-100 I'd guess) and most bloomed. Not ONE set a fruit. Are the commercial pumpkins sterile hybrids?
Posted by: billb
Date: July 29, 2010 10:38AM
stressed plants can sometimes have just male flowers (the upright ones ) instead of both

I'm having that problem with zuchinis - nice healthy green plants with just male flowers. 2 zuchinis from 12 plants and that was three weeks ago. A few feet away the Summer squash are doing fine.

I added blood meal to raise nitrogen content because a soil test indicated extremely low and I also added a lot of compost that was really low on nitrigen.