advertisement
Forums

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the 'Friendly' Political Ranting forum
In some ways this is a Golden Age
Posted by: vision63
Date: January 13, 2020 12:02PM
My Great Grandfather and Grandfather were basically forced into a segregated military. My Father and older Brother were too basically (not segregated). They didn't make me go into the military. I graduated High School in 1977, one year before there was even the mandatory registration for Selective Service. No one has been forced to go into it since.

That's something.

I don't know if a mandatory 2 year service for all young people would encourage or hinder war. Would politicians feel obliged to use a massive armed forces? They say if you have a hammer, every problem you have will look like a nail.

I'm sure at some point the U.S. will stumble into some giant war in the future that'll require a draft.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: In some ways this is a Golden Age
Posted by: davester
Date: January 13, 2020 12:35PM
vision63
I don't know if a mandatory 2 year service for all young people would encourage or hinder war. Would politicians feel obliged to use a massive armed forces? They say if you have a hammer, every problem you have will look like a nail.

I'm sure at some point the U.S. will stumble into some giant war in the future that'll require a draft.

Having been on the cusp of being sent to 'Nam as cannon fodder, I have always thought of the draft as a return to slavery/indentured servitude and removal of your civil rights (and risking your life) in the service of potentially evil political ends. That said, I think that a mandatory 2-year service for young people where you had choices regarding how you could best serve society would be a good thing. Choices could be military, the peace corps, social services, WPA-like projects, etc.