Deals | News | Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: $567.77 ( +43.02 )

*Cached every 60 seconds. For live updating, Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
iPhone 4 dropped in toilet. Best way to get another
Posted by: Speedy
Date: March 25, 2012 03:02AM
My daughter dropped her iPhone 4 in the toilet. Predictably it is dead. We are drying it out but it was in use when it hit the water.

It is an AT&T model. What is the cheapest way to replace it? Looks to be around $300 for a used one on eBay.

I assume once I find an AT&T refurb or used that it is simply a matter of swapping the SIM card and then connecting to iTunes to reload her stuff and she is good to go? Or do I have to do something with AT&T?

The iPhone was new in 11/10 so it is almost a year and a half old and our contract is up in 11/12. We have three other iPhones bought on the same date. I'm still a newbie when it comes to the in's and out's of cell phones and how this works as these are our first cell phones ever. I do not wish to extend our contract two years to get a replacement phone from AT&T.

Thanks for any suggestions,
Ron

Saint Cloud, Minnesota, where the weather is wonderful even when it isn't.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: iPhone 4 dropped in toilet. Best way to get another
Posted by: M>B>
Date: March 25, 2012 03:17AM
Well thats kind of carapy, dry all moisture out if it and seal it in a zip loc bag with a pound of rice in it and hope for the best! Wait a day or two and see what happens.

Good luck.

Edit: The rice should be un-cooked.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/25/2012 03:21AM by M>B>.
Posted by: GGD
Date: March 25, 2012 03:21AM
This link seems to say that Apple may replace it for $149.

[support.apple.com]

#
Out-of-Warranty Service

If you own an iPhone that is ineligible for warranty service but is eligible for Out-of-Warranty (OOW) Service, Apple will service your iPhone for the Out-of-Warranty Service fee listed below.