advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
is this my rotator cuff?
Posted by: mrbigstuff
Date: August 22, 2011 11:04AM
when I outstretch my arm at a right angle to my torso and do a slight twist, I feel a pop. no pain, but a pop. it's mainly a soreness. mind you, I just did a week of manual labor in interior work so this is to be expected but I have always had this "pop."

I've helped this in the past with some weightlifting by building up the deltoid muscle but it always comes back. recommendations or just more weights?
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: is this my rotator cuff?
Posted by: mstudio
Date: August 22, 2011 11:15AM
I'm not a doctor, but I am seeing one now for what I thought was rotator cuff. They don't think it is, but they're still figuring it out. I can tell you that my symptoms are different than yours but apparently similar to cuff problems. I will also tell you the pain is almost unbearable sometimes. You have no pain, I'm glad, but may just be from all of the manual labor last week.
Posted by: lost in space
Date: August 22, 2011 01:00PM
From what you describe, I have something very similar. If I were holding a pair of cymbals for an orchestra, crashing them together by rotating my arms at the shoulder (without moving my elbows) would make a pop each rep. I was prescribed an exercise that mimics this motion for shoulder pain, and I get the pop if I haven't been doing them and go back to it. I use Thera-Bands for resistance, and set them up to resist rotating inwards and also outwards. After a few days back on my regimen, the pop goes away. My PT said it was OK if it didn't hurt and went away after a few days of exercises. These exercises, and others, have helped my rotator cuff injury from a car accident 30 years ago, but I don't know if the popping is related to the rotator cuff. My PT says it stops when opposing muscles are balanced in strength.YMMV.