advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Need advice - have to make a web page for our HOA
Posted by: olnacl
Date: December 14, 2012 10:23AM
I'm not a programmer, so what I need are suggestions on getting a domain name and a web page hosted. I need to make changes on the web page, so something like the now defunct iWeb would have been great. I plan to use it to post community messages, like dates the roads are going to be resurfaced, roof inspections, etc, Nothing fancy.

I've seen ads for complete web page services including the domain name starting at <$100 a year. That would be fine, but I want to avoid any problems that might befall a novice. The need for me to be able to edit the web page is critical.

I could devote an old 1.42 GHz PPC Mac Mini to do duty as a web server or even a Dell C2D desktop that I have laying around, but since I'm in an elected office and may not be the person responsible for the rest of my life, it would be easier to hand off something hosted by an outside organization.

Any and all suggestions and advice appreciated, especially those from personal experience.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Need advice - have to make a web page for our HOA
Posted by: bik
Date: December 14, 2012 10:34AM
You don't want to start maintaining your own web server.

I would recommend a blog at [wordpress.org]
Posted by: Acer
Date: December 14, 2012 10:41AM
I suggest a font reminscent of a totalitarian regime.
Date: December 14, 2012 10:45AM
Thanks, I'm looking at Wordpress now. I'll have to think about the font suggestion though…
Keep those cards and letters coming!
Posted by: Paul F.
Date: December 14, 2012 10:48AM
How about the very iWeb like Sandvox?