advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
AAPL dividend question and strategy
Posted by: Chris Y
Date: May 08, 2014 11:53AM
I am long AAPL, but my portfolio is a bit heavily weighted towards AAPL so I don't really want to buy and hold any more. However, I thought I would try to arbitrage the dividend and recent dip from $600. So I just bought some AAPL on a dip yesterday. This was a bit of a spur of the moment decision and I want to make sure it all makes sense before I sell, as I've never done this before or really even thought about dividends in the past.

I was thinking of selling the AAPL stock today or in the next few days.
I bought 50 more shares of AAPL at 590.35, yesterday 5/7. I believe that AAPL is ex-dividend today 5/8. The record date is 5/12 (i.e. you need to be a shareholder of record on this date to get the dividend) but I'm under the impression that it takes a few days to get taken off the record so as long as I'm a shareholder today I get the dividend of $3.29 per share. Is that correct?

currently AAPL is up about 2 points from where I bought (592.50)
50 shares x (592.50-590.35) = 50 x 2.15 + 50 x 3.29 = $272 minus any trading fees.

Basically, the question is if it is okay to sell today or should I wait a few days to make sure I get the dividend?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/08/2014 11:53AM by Chris Y.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: AAPL dividend question and strategy
Posted by: Wailer
Date: May 08, 2014 12:11PM
Once the stock goes ex-dividend you are entitled to the dividend. It won't be paid for a few weeks, but it will definitely show it up. If you want to capture the dividend, make sure you hold it they day before it goes ex and the sell it after. Barring any major moves in the price, the opening price should be roughly lower by the amount of the dividend.

Is this in a tax-deferred account?