Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
For those of you with shared hosting, a question
Posted by: tahoedrew
Date: August 10, 2015 11:12AM
Poll
Which of the following do you have experience with and would recommend before the others?
Only registered users are allowed to vote for this poll.
3 votes were received.
a2hosting 1

33%
Total Choice Hosting 1

33%
inmotion hosting 1

33%

I've narrowed down my shared hosting choices to the top three based on feedback from other members of this forum throughout its history.

One thing I've never done before on a shared hosting platform (and I believe shouldn't be a problem), but wanted to validate with those who may have attempted it: In hosting several sites, can I have some sites on WP installs (which I'll be doing through a cPanel) and some just as HTML uploaded to the correct folder destination (such as those made through RapidWeaver or Flux)?

Thanks for all your opinions, feedback and suggestions!

~A

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/10/2015 11:13AM by tahoedrew.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: For those of you with shared hosting, a question
Posted by: M A V I C
Date: August 10, 2015 11:23AM
Most shared hosts will let you host different sites - some static, and some dynamic. I can't speak for the hosts you mentioned. For some reason Inmotion caught my eye as I was thinking it had a bad rep. I noticed on yelp it has a lot of bad reviews [www.yelp.com]

For basic shared hosting, I have experience with Dreamhost, Pair, GoDaddy, Media Temple... and a few others. I'd avoid GoDaddy and Media Temple. Pair is pretty bulletproof. Dreamhost has been better as of late, but have changed their terms so they're restrictive on what you can do there. I also recently signed up for a bit better WordPress support with SiteGround and so far it's pretty good.

Help MacInTouch: Buy from Amazon? use this link [amazon.com]