advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Why weightlifting still works for me 3 years later
Posted by: pRICE cUBE
Date: January 27, 2017 01:49PM
I thought I would share my workout experiences with you all here just in case someone could use this information. This works for me, it may not work for you. I have my reasons listed below. Whatever activity you chose, have fun.

What works for me:

I began weightlifting a little of 3 years ago. It started out as working some dumbbells while I was on a stationary bike. After about 2 months of that, I studied proper technique and used dumbbells and a universal weight lifting machine at a gym. This gave rise to the MR Forum Fit Club posts. In 3 years of lifting, I have gone from feeling very out of shape (well, round shape) to manageable amount of body fat percentage. I also improved my diet by cutting down on sugar and reading labels. My vitals have improved and I feel better overall.

I analyzed why weightlifting works for me and not other exercises and I came to a few conclusions.
-I can exercise on my own schedule and pace.
-No need to get a team together to have a quorum necessary to play. No one is relying on me to show up.
-I can lift until I am tired, rest, and lift again.
-I dislike the variable of weather. Gyms are typically climate controlled with no rain to deal with.
-I can get work in while you are on the road with resistance bands. Adjustable dumbbells don't take up a lot of room.
-Gym membership at recreation centers tend to be reasonable and low hassle.
-Adjustable weight are regularly sold on online classifieds if you don't want to pay for a gym
-You can watch a show while you do some work.
-Body weight exercises can be done almost anywhere
-Added muscle mass increases metabolism.
-2 workouts a week is enough for steady results.
-Some days I have a 90 minute workout in me, some days I only have 45 minutes.