Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Question about installing a dimmer switch
Posted by: PeterB
Date: August 29, 2020 05:47PM
Hi everyone,

I have a bathroom which has a combo GFCI outlet / light switch, for which I'd like to be able to dim the lights. Currently the light fixture has GU10 base halogens, which I'd also like to swap out with dimmable LED's equivalents.

I have zero experience replacing switches (I'm not an electrician, but I am pretty handy), so I have no idea how difficult this is, or even if it's possible. (If it weren't a GFCI outlet as well, I would assume it's possible, but with that also having a GFCI outlet, I have no idea.)

Edit: as soon as I posted this, it occurred to me... I suppose I could also buy dimmable LED's which have their own remote, and do the dimming that way... that would save my having to rewire the switch, but of course then I'd have to buy those specific LED's if they ever needed replacement. These lights don't get a lot of use, so it might be something for me to consider.

TiA

Freya says, 'Hello from NOLA, baby!' (Laissez bon temps rouler!)

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/29/2020 05:48PM by PeterB.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Question about installing a dimmer switch
Posted by: RAMd®d
Date: August 29, 2020 06:00PM
Not being an electrician, but somewhat handy myself, I'll offer that getting dimmable LEDS to work with a dimmer can be the luck of the draw.

A lot of one don't play nice with the other.

Getting LED bulbs with their own remote could be a quicker way to go, avoiding trying your luck with LEDs.

A pricey version of that are the Hue bulbs, available in 2700K (White) or 2700-6500K (White and Ambience). There is a two-bulk kit with a standalone dimmer switch that mounts with adhesive, magnet, or screws.