advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
38 years of marriage and communication just hit a high note !
Posted by: cbelt3
Date: November 22, 2020 08:33PM
COVID and work from home and constantly being together has caused some .. stresses. We've been working on it. We've been trying to establish a simple ground rule... when one of us feels a bit put out, remember that the first thought should be "I love you", not "I'm mad at you".

Now I'll start by saying.. my background is Engineering. Which means that I can be a serious know it all problem solving machine. Not that my solutions are any good, but hey...

Mrs. cbelt3 just approached me with one of her craft projects. And she started by saying "All I want you to do is look at what I did and say "cool""

So she presented what she had done (involved a Japanese paper organizer and a simplification involving using a dollar store calendar rather than ordering another $$ worth of stuff from Japan).

And I told her she was awesome.

And then I thanked her for turning off my totally unneeded 'over engineer' commentary.

She has finally learned how to manage one of my annoying foibles !

Now onto the rest of my bad habits...
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: 38 years of marriage and communication just hit a high note !
Posted by: Thrift Store Scott
Date: November 22, 2020 09:34PM
That just goes to show what can be accomplished when both parties in a relationship are willing to communicate openly and honestly with one another. Congratulations.

WARNING- If I posted a link in the above message, assume it is at minimum "NSFW- Language". Occasionally you'll be wrong.

Lie to me if you must, but don't lie to me and insult my intelligence in the same sentence.

Resist the Thought Police: George Orwell's book 1984 was meant as a warning, not an instruction manual.