advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Want to use 2010 MBA for web surfer
Posted by: rgG
Date: January 13, 2021 12:19PM
I have my daughter's old 2010 MBA that I would like to use as a downstairs web surfer. I might need to use it for Face Time or Zoom, since it is the only Mac we have with a camera except to iOS ones, like iPhones and iPad. Other than that, nothing else. We have our minis for anything else.

It is dog slow, probably because its SSD is almost full and it is still running Maverick 10.9.2

I don't really want to save or migrate anything over, so how should I proceed?

I was thinking to just erase the SSD and install a fresh OS, the latest it will take.

Any links or tips would be very helpful, as I have not done this is a long time.

Edit: I think there are either two or three user accounts, if this makes a difference for which one I should be logged into when doing this. I think two have admin privileges.

Looks like it will run High Sierra 10.13.X

Roswell, GA (Atlanta suburb)

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 01/13/2021 12:46PM by rgG.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Want to use 2010 MBA for web surfer
Posted by: freeradical
Date: January 13, 2021 12:49PM
Wouldn't the SSD be pretty worn out on an 11 year old machine?
Posted by: Lew Zealand
Date: January 13, 2021 01:04PM
How much memory? Seriously important. If only 2GB, I'd try to do it but stay at 10.9 and hope that your websites work. Your SSD should work fine after a wipe and OS reinstall, I have an 8 year old OWC SSD in the below machine and it works great.

I use a 2009 13" MBPro but in comparison to yours, it's a little faster and I have 8GB. Being a year older, I only get 10.11 and in another OS 10.11 2009 MBPro with only 4GB, there is some slowness from that limited RAM but frankly for web browsing it works pretty well, so if you have 4GB, you should be OK.