advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
OBD2 Scanners Advice Needed (TIA)
Posted by: Beam Me Up Scotty
Date: April 24, 2021 10:19AM
I'm looking to purchase an OBD2 Scanner and was hoping some of you have had good experiences with one.

I know what you're thinking; what is your price range? Well, the sky is the limit on how much these things cost. I'm not a professional mechanic so I don't think I need to spend thousands of dollars on one. I'm also thinking you get what you pay for so I'm guessing there are a number of worthless cheap ones out there.

Yes, I Google searched this but I'm really hoping for some real world experiences with those of you that own and use one.

Basically I'd prefer it to be reasonably priced and the biggie is that it's easy to use and doesn't come with a 1000 page PDF manual that I need to study in order to properly use it.

Anyhoo, if you have one you're satisfied with that was affordable & easy to use/understand let me know please.

Thank you,
BEMUS
(formally Dazed & Confused. Yeah, that idiot)

A life is like a garden. Perfect moments can be had, but not preserved, except in memory. LLAP
11:36 PM - 22 Feb 2015

-Leonard Nimoy

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 04/24/2021 12:43PM by Beam Me Up Scotty.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: OBD2 Scanners Advice Needed (TIA)
Posted by: mrbigstuff
Date: April 24, 2021 10:34AM
I have an iCarsoft model that I like. You have to buy thr correct version, of course, for your model. The interface is a bit clunky but you can figure it out after some trial and errors.
Posted by: MrNoBody
Date: April 24, 2021 10:37AM
Brand & year of vehicle?
I ask because Euro & Asian brands are tricky to get the right software
match.

On my '16 VW, the Carista works great. $30 @ bezosville

39°36'17"N 75°44'43"W

DuckDuckGo
The search engine that doesn't track you.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/24/2021 10:40AM by MrNoBody.
Posted by: Gareth