advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
M1 Mini video editing - mad laughter!
Posted by: mrbigstuff
Date: June 10, 2021 07:42PM
I've got a camera that shoots AVCHD and it has always ground my computers (admittedly, only an i3 and i5) to a halt. Like, nothing going except a few seconds at a time. And DaVinci Resolve would not open at all. I'm not a video editor by any stretch, but I have been shooting video with this camera for about 10 years now, just keeping all of the raw footage so that one day I could find a machine to edit it without spending thousands. Haha!!! my cheapest machine ever rolls right through it!
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: M1 Mini video editing - mad laughter!
Posted by: jdc
Date: June 10, 2021 08:58PM
No surprise. =)

----

Edited 999 time(s). Last edit at 12:08PM by jdc.
Posted by: tuqqer
Date: June 11, 2021 06:46AM
That was my experience, too. I put together training videos via Screenflow, far from an expert, and the first laugh I got with my M1 Mini was watching it work with (still Rosetta!) Screenflow videos. It had that same feeling as the first time I operated my mac from an SSD instead of spinning disks.

I'm still amazed that the top chip makers of the world hadn't come up with this solution on their own. It took a non-chip maker Apple to show how to build something that didn't put out heat and was this fast. Was it laziness on Intel, etc,'s part?

Mac mini (M1 2020, 16G 2T) Big Sur 11.x Dual 25" Acer 1440p LCDs11" i5 MacBook Air
Posted by: bazookaman
Date: June 11, 2021 07:18AM
tuqqer
I'm still amazed that the top chip makers of the world hadn't come up with this solution on their own. It took a non-chip maker Apple to show how to build something that didn't put out heat and was this fast. Was it laziness on Intel, etc,'s part?

If it ain't broke...

Date: June 11, 2021 07:30AM
bazookaman
tuqqer

If it ain't broke...