Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
F/U on capacitor for HVAC
Posted by: Dennis S
Date: April 28, 2022 02:31PM
[forums.macresource.com]

The old one’s top rusted and you can’t read the “herm” and other stuff. I thought the number of tabs would match up but they don’t. Will the colors of the wires match up with the letter and words on the new capacitor? Say color X goes with “Fan” and so on. I can’t get to it right now to see what colors there are. I remember a yellow and I think purple. I doubt if Amrad will talk to me since I’m not a pro. One of the wire tabs was on loose and the receiver tabs are rusty.

This is the new capacitor:

[www.amazon.com]

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 04/28/2022 02:52PM by Dennis S.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: F/U on capacitor for HVAC
Posted by: mikebw
Date: April 28, 2022 02:42PM
Looks like each connector has a different number of tabs used to make the connection to the old wire so I am guessing it is impossible to mess that up. I've done a cap replacement before on a heat pump unit and the only scary part after turning off the power was to bridge the old cap with a screwdriver to ensure it was discharged before disconnecting! Although if it's really dead then nothing will happen.
Date: April 28, 2022 02:47PM
The tab numbers don’t match up. I figured they would.
Posted by: Spock
Date: April 28, 2022 05:18PM
If I remember correctly, 4 tabs = common (power in), 3 tabs = HERM and 1 or 2 tabs = Fan.

Comedy Central: Best news channel that isn't a news channel.

Fox News: Best comedy channel that isn't a comedy channel.
Posted by: Cary
Date: April 28, 2022 08:29PM
Look on the schematic - does it show terminal nu.bers/letters, or names? Does it show wire colors?
Date: April 28, 2022 08:48PM