advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
Anyone have any "I remember when" stories about gas prices?
Posted by: mstudio
Date: June 04, 2022 08:38AM
I filled the tank on my van yesterday, $80, I'll be able to go about 275 miles on that. My first car, a '61 Bug got around 30mpg and gas was .24 at the time in '68. I would put a dollar in it every few weeks. In 1981 I drove my '78 Rabbit diesel from Chicago to Florida and back for $40 in fuel. Fuel was less than a buck and it got 60mpg. I'm old, I think about these things sometimes.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: Anyone have any "I remember when" stories about gas prices?
Posted by: Speedy
Date: June 04, 2022 08:52AM
I remember when I used to buy gas. Now I plug in.

Saint Cloud, Minnesota, where the weather is wonderful even when it isn't.
Posted by: Speedy
Date: June 04, 2022 08:58AM
As a truck driver, I remember buying 150 gallons of Diesel for under $30. I paid 17.9¢ for gas, which was pretty much all road tax, around 1970. Even at that price I couldn’t always afford a fill.

Saint Cloud, Minnesota, where the weather is wonderful even when it isn't.
Posted by: flareslow
Date: June 04, 2022 09:20AM
As a teenager, I mowed lawns with my little push mower in the 60's. I could fill my 1 gallon gas can for a quarter and get paid about $3.00 for mowing a 1 acre lot. Times have changed!
Posted by: Microman
Date: June 04, 2022 09:30AM
I was cleaning up photos, and ran across this screen shot, dated April 2020. I was driving back from back east to California to bring my Granddaughter home and stopping at Costco gas stations when possible.

This is what it was a little over 2 years ago.., then..

Posted by: Ken Sp.
Date: June 04, 2022 09:30AM