advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
LaCie External HD question
Posted by: Lizabeth
Date: November 17, 2023 12:33PM
I have this: LaCie Hard Disk 1TB USB 2.0 External Hard Drive designed by Neil Poulton 301304U

I bought it back in the day but can't find a receipt for it or remember when I bought it. I've been using it for work purposes continuously since Fall 2018*.

I'm getting ready to retire and trying to figure out:
a. how to get them to pay me for this one without a receipt - can't even find prices for it online. I don't want to just "donate" it because TPTB are asses.
b. I want to avoid having to transfer the work files onto something else for them.
c. I'd rather just package this up and send it to them because it's been in continuous use for 5 years and I have others I use for my personal stuff.
d. It's been in continuous use since Fall 2018.

Thoughts? TIA

*I know I should have charged them for it then but don't go there.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 11/17/2023 01:08PM by Lizabeth.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: LaCie External HD question
Posted by: Tiangou
Date: November 17, 2023 12:57PM
Thoughts: That drive is toast. (Statistically, by age.)

Have them buy a new drive, shipped to you. Populate the new drive from the USB 2.0 drive. Send them the new drive.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/17/2023 01:47PM by Tiangou.
Posted by: hal
Date: November 17, 2023 12:58PM
"how to get them to pay me for this one without a receipt" - I think 'they' would be the one to ask. I suppose you could go to archive.org and check LaCie's webpage back then and get their retail price. I certainly wouldn't accept that instead of a receipt, but maybe 'they' will.
Posted by: Gareth
Date: November 17, 2023 01:15PM
I don't know. I think you're just out of luck. If it was me, I'd just "donate" it because that drive isn't worth the trouble and you don't want to bother transferring files.