advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
20 years ago today: Loma Prieta earthquake
Posted by: Silencio
Date: October 17, 2009 12:58PM
Hard to believe it's been twenty years since this happened. Did anyone else here experience it?

I was a sophomore at UC Santa Cruz in 1989. It was a hot, kind of humid day that day, the clouds formed a hazy, slate grey cover over the entire sky. I finished up in class and went back to my top-floor dorm room to take care of some things before grabbing some dinner and heading to the lounge to watch the World Series on TV. I picked up a game of Rescue Raiders on my Apple //e and actually didn't feel like I was in a big hurry to get to the dining hall and the game at 5:03 PM.

I felt a jolt and instinctively knew "earthquake." I remember very calmly setting my joystick down on the desk and walking to the door frame. My friend across the hall did the same, and then we realized how powerful this earthquake was! Felt like a freight train was barreling down the hallway! My friend yelled out "This is the big one!", and I responded along the lines of "This is *a* big one!" After the longest 15 seconds of my life, the shaking finally subsided and I bolted down five flights of stairs in record time.

The dorms were closed for some hours afterwards until some engineers could determine they were seismically sound. Our college was built in the mid-70s so it was able to ride through without damage. The dining hall served everyone dinner out in the meadow. I think we finally were allowed back in the dorms around 11pm. The power and phone service was restored some time earlier, so I walked back into my room to find over a dozen messages on my answering machine from concerned family members. The only significant casualty in the room was my roommate's lava lamp, which toppled over and broke.