advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
DirecTV question
Posted by: Schpark
Date: May 09, 2006 02:01PM
I am a newbie when it comes to DirecTV but I am sure there is someone knowledgeable on this board to answer my questions.

My father died in February and my mom currently lives alone in a house with 4 DirecTV receivers. Her income has since been reduced and she is looking at reducing costs. Obviously she doesn't need 4 receivers.

I recently learned that the access cards are tied to a specific receiver so she couldn't just move the card when she wanted to move to a different location. Knowing her viewing habits/desires I could get it down to two receivers if I can split the output of one of the boxes to two different TV's in adjacent rooms. If not then it would be three receivers or using rabbit ears in her bedroom.

So can I split the output of one of the boxes to two different TV's? I understand that you would have to go to the room with the receiver to change channels but that would be workable.

Thanks,

Mark
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: DirecTV question
Posted by: Paul F.
Date: May 09, 2006 02:10PM
As I understand your question, the answer is YES...

You can split the signal from the back of the reciever to the TV to go to two TV's... but you're correct that BOTH TV's will be on the same channel, and that the reciever controls the channel, and you'd have to go into that room to change channels.

I do this between my bedroom and office. Bedroom has the reciever, but I have a TV in my office hooked to it.

Paul F.
-----
A sword never kills anybody; it is a tool in the killer's hand. - Lucius Annaeus Seneca c. 5 BC - 65 AD
----
Good is the enemy of Excellent. Talent is not necessary for Excellence.
Persistence is necessary for Excellence. And Persistence is a Decision.

--

--

--
Eureka, CA
Date: May 09, 2006 02:13PM
Thanks Paul F.!! You described exactly what I am trying to do.