advertisement
Forums

The Forum is sponsored by 

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the Tips and Deals forum
"Consumer Report iPhone4 study flawed"
Posted by: RAMd®d
Date: July 13, 2010 02:47PM
Let me start off by saying that for much of my career, I worked as an electromagnetic engineer working on exactly the kind of issues that now face Apple on the iPhone4. But this isn’t about me. It is about Consumer Reports and its not so scientific testing on the iPhone 4...

I also don’t know what part of this problem is Apple’s and what part is related to the AT&T network.

And we don’t know how the observed effect is, or is not, similar to other devices.

We also don’t know if placing a finger on the antenna bridge is detuning the antenna or detuning the receiver itself.

And neither does Consumer Reports.

The whole story: [mobileanalyst.wordpress.com]

When a good man is hurt,
all who would be called good
must suffer with him.

Everybody matters or nobody matters.

You and I have memories longer than the road that stretches out ahead.

There is no safety for honest men except
by believing all possible evil of evil men.

We don’t do focus groups. They just ensure that you don’t offend anyone, and produce bland inoffensive products. —Sir Jonathan Ive

-An armed society is a polite society.
And hope is a lousy defense.

You make me pull, I'll put you down.

Mister, that's a ten-gallon hat on a twenty-gallon head.

I *love* SIGs. It's Glocks I hate.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: "Consumer Report iPhone4 study flawed"
Posted by: michaelb
Date: July 13, 2010 02:59PM
I don't see how that matters though. This was one of the lead stories in my local paper, and has gotten and will get extensive coverage. I don't see it going away until Apple recognizes the problem, issues a fix, and tries to move on. Many stories today are speculating about a recall.
Posted by: decay
Date: July 13, 2010 03:06PM
it's all about perception vs. reality.