advertisement
Forums

AAPL stock: Click Here

You are currently viewing the 'Friendly' Political Ranting forum
SCOTUS to Review Monsanto Gene Patents.. interesting
Posted by: cbelt3
Date: October 08, 2012 10:33AM
[www.reuters.com]

"Oct 5 (Reuters) - The U.S. Supreme Court agreed on Friday to consider an Indiana soybean farmer's appeal of a decision finding that he infringed Monsanto Co patents over seeds containing the company's genetically altered Roundup Ready technology.

"

- - - -

Personally, if I was a farmer, I would have arranged for Monsanto and neighboring farmers to be arrested for Genetic Trespass for daring to allow their Monsanto seeds to interbreed with my plants. What Monsanto has done in both allowing these genetic mods to propagate naturally across the world, and THEN sue farmers into oblivion whose plants were 'raped' is... pretty damn horrible.

Oh, don't get me wrong. I'm not a "All GMODS are teh evil" kind of person. But their initial 'guarantees' that the seeds don't breed was proven false, and so their 'safety' guarantees were.. not. That's a clear breach of bioethics protocol. And then to use that breach for profit ? Aargh.
Options:  Reply • Quote
Re: SCOTUS to Review Monsanto Gene Patents.. interesting
Posted by: mattkime
Date: October 08, 2012 11:23AM
>>Oh, don't get me wrong. I'm not a "All GMODS are teh evil" kind of person. But their initial 'guarantees' that the seeds don't breed was proven false, and so their 'safety' guarantees were.. not. That's a clear breach of bioethics protocol. And then to use that breach for profit ? Aargh.

full agreement.

Posted by: Ca Bob
Date: October 08, 2012 11:28AM